"For the Children:" Laurelhurst Uses School Email to Offer Kids "Credit" For Teachers/Schools Rally

Share with: Everybody. Sharing is caring, ya know.


I see in this email they’ve left off the leftist groups hosting this event and with which the schools are working with. To refresh your memory see here.

American Federation of Teachers – Oregon –teachers union
Bus Project –which now touts establishing a “politicorps” for “young activists”and supports only  leftist, ‘progressive’ causes
Children’s Institute Community &Parents for Public Schools, Portland–Minority rights, pro public schools organization
Ecumenical Ministries of Oregon –an organization which allies itself with only liberal causes.
Friends of Music–the website that comes up is a PPS one at Beaumont School
Onward Oregon–a leftist group which currently supports a state sponsored bank
Oregon Business Association–the liberal business association
Oregon Education Association –the teachers union
Oregon Head Start Association–advocating for more government spending on early education
Partnership for Safety & Justice–youthful offender stay out of prison group–a liberal cause
Progressive Oregon–Noah Heller, the apparent leader of this group, lobbies for the ban on plastic bags, has written for the Daily Kos, a far left blog and Blue Oregon
Rural Organizing Project–this old timey organization appears now to have morphed into a gay rights groups
Salem/Keizer Coalition for Equality
Stand for Children–which crowed about electing “pro school” (liberals) to office.

From: “Judy Roumpf” <jroumpf@pps.k12.or.us>
Date: February 17, 2011 8:44:24 AM PST
To: “Carol Berkley” <cberkley@pps.k12.or.us>, “Carol Hart” <chart@pps.k12.or.us>, “Gregory Glascock” <gglascoc@pps.k12.or.us>, “Jan Martin” <janm@pps.k12.or.us>, “Jim Miller” <jimmill@pps.k12.or.us>, “Jessica Schlosser” <jschloss@pps.k12.or.us>, “Kari Ryckebosch” <kryckebo@pps.k12.or.us>, “Kate Zimmer” <kzimmer@pps.k12.or.us>, “Peter Vaughn” <pvaughn@pps.k12.or.us>, “Sharon Fitz” <sfitz@pps.k12.or.us>, “Tracy  Rhone” <trhone@pps.k12.or.us>, “Victoria Leary” <vleary@pps.k12.or.us>, “Wilson Phillips” <wphillip@pps.k12.or.us>
Cc: “Karen Pinder” <kpinder@pps.k12.or.us>, “Traci Osterhagen” <tosterha@pps.k12.or.us>
Subject: Community service and rally for school funding
Greetings Middle School Students and Parents:

Are you short on community service hours? Are you tired of worrying about school funding year after year?
Then gather up some friends, make a homemade sign, load some new tunes on your iPod, and get on the bus to Salem for the President’s Day Rally to Protect Oregon’s Future.
Let’s show our legislators how important it is that we work together to stabilize school funding. Nothing is more powerful for our elected leaders to see than the faces of the students who are currently in school. Show them that you care and that you are ready for change.
Two buses will be leaving Laurelhurst at 9:30 am on Monday, February 21st.
Please register at: www.stand.org/or/rally or contact Laurelhurst Rally Captain Amy Katz with questions at amygkatz@gmail.com.
Donations of $5/person are kindly requested to offset the cost. Buses should return around 2pm. That’s at least four hours of community service! Be sure to dress for the weather, pack a water bottle and a lunch, and show our legislators how much we care about education.
Tell ’em where you saw it. Http://www.victoriataft.com

Share with: Everybody. Sharing is caring, ya know.